Mobirise Web Site Builder

Reviews and News!

Great new fiction!

Autumn is almost here! Time to cozy up next to the fireplace with your mug of hot cocoa and your favorite books .. Oh, wait a second. It's going to be 95 degrees here in Alabama today, so we don't really need fuzzy socks or a fire to keep warm. But the fall is a great time for books! There are so many great new books coming out this month and in the next few months, it's a very exciting time of year! Here are just a few of the great new fiction titles out this week.

Time's Convert by Deborah Harkness

Harkness is the author of the the popular and romantic time travel/vampire&witch series, the All Souls Trilogy. The settings are now the American Revolutionary war and modern day Paris and London, and the reader is introduced to several new characters, but also reunited with beloved favorites Matthew and Diana and their children, as well as new characters. Returning readers will love this fantastical, time travel, historical vampire/witch fiction! (Overseas viewers are currently watching the new television series based on the original trilogy with Matthew Goode, and I'm sure this will eventually make its way Stateside as well!)

Lethal White by Robert Galbraith aka JK Rowling

This is the fourth in the Cormoran Strike series, a popular detective series by the author of Harry Potter, JK Rowling. Cormoran and his co-agent, Robin Ellacott, now a partner in the agency, investigate a crime--a child's murder-- committed long ago and witnessed as a child by a now very troubled man. The relationship between Cormoran and his partner, Robin is also fraught, and adds an extra layer to this page turner. This series is very popular in our store and recommended by Drew!

A Forgotten Place by Charles Todd

10th in the Bess Crawford series. At the end of the great War, nurse Bess is in France nursing a group of Welsh soldiers seriously maimed and psychologically wounded in the war. On leave, Bess visits their home village and suddenly finds herself in an enigmatic and dangerous situation involving their captain and a mysterious death. Mysterious historical fiction at its finest!

The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar

I think this powerfully imagined novel might tick all the boxes if you love a good Dickensian style novel, set in London, filled with mystery, a ship captain and his romance with a "courtesan," and a mummified mermaid! This will appeal to fans of Sarah Perrry's The Essex Serpent, Jane Austen, and historical fiction like Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist, and Susanna Clark's Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by . I've read nothing but rave reviews on this one! It's a big book at almost 500 pages, but it sounds just perfect for that cool autumn evening read by the fireside! This is Ms Gowar's debut novel, and I'm sure there will be more wonderful things coming in the future from her--and doesn't she have a lovely name?! It sounds so romantic and the perfect name for a novelist of the type!

Labyrinth of the Spirits by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (translated by Lucia Graves)

The conclusion to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books quartet, this is the novel for you if you love books about books. Zafon's first novel in this series, The Shadow of the Wind was a beautifully rendered ode to book loving, and the following books provided more of the same. They can be read as stand-alones, even if you've never read any of his earlier books (although I'd encourage you to do so, since they are so good!). The Shadow of the Wind sold over 15 million copies worldwide, making it one of the best selling books of all time. Zafon is the most widely published Spanish author as well, and his books are mostly set in his home town of Barcelona. Lucia Graves elegantly translates as she has his previous novels. Gothic fare for a dark autumn night.

Washington Black by Esi Edugyan

Already longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Canadian author Esi Edugyan's novel of a young runaway slave, who is assisted in his escape by the scientist brother of the man who owns him. The brother aids his escape with a Cloud-cutter, his experimental airship (basically a hot air balloon!). This is one I've personally been anticipating, since it sounds a little to me like The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, which was certainly one of the most powerful novels I've read in the last few years. I've just started this one, but already the writing is drawing me in: part adventure novel, part slave narrative, this promises to be one of the best books of the year. Esi Edugyan, a Canadian and the daughter of Ghanaian immigrants, is already a prize winning novelist. Hopefully, this will be the story to make her more of a household name!

Thanks for reading with us! Come visit us soon at Little Professor! We are always happy to help you find a great book. Kathleen

Drew wrote a book!
The Stars Now Unclaimed


Release Date: August 21, 2018 

For many of our customers, Drew Williams has been a fixture here at Little Professor for almost 20 years, a good portion of that time as the fiction buyer. He's always friendly and ready to make a book suggestion for anyone. Drew is now embarking on a new career path--as a writer! Drew has written a sci-fi novel, the first in a trilogy, called The Stars Now Unclaimed. The publication date is August 21, 2018, and we will have plenty of copies here, and for his book launch here at Little Professor that Saturday, August 25. However, please feel free to pre-order, by phone in an email, or in person!

We hope that all our wonderful and loyal customers will come out and support Drew and his fantastic new sci-fi, space opera adventure! It's a very exciting time for everyone here at Little Professor. Click here for a link to an early review from Publisher's Weekly!

Survival is Insufficient
by Kathleen

Here at Little Professor, we love to read. I know one of my favorite sections is Staff Picks, which is where we have a conglomeration of some of our current and older favorites. It changes often, and you also get a 10% discount when you chose one of these books! So come in and check them out soon.



Today, I'd like to tell you about one of my absolute favorite books of all time, Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel. Here's a short synopsis of her novel by the author herself: Station Eleven "is about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North America. It's also about friendship, memory, love, celebrity, our obsession with objects, oppressive dinner parties, comic books, and knife-throwing".

Don't you want to read it now?

A flu has decimated the population, and this book travels back in forth in time to different moments in the diverse cast of characters' lives. It's fascinating, compelling and spooky, yet uplifting and ultimately hopeful. The quote "Survival is insufficient" is from the book, but some people will recognize it from the classic tv show, Star Trek. Yes, even Star Trek makes an appearance in this novel. Because it's about so many things!

I like to think anyone will enjoy this novel, because it really is for and about everyone. I was delighted when one of the teachers at the Alabama School of Fine Arts here in Birmingham chose it for some of his classes to read this school year. Look at those beautiful books!

Variety

We have it!

From new releases to timeless classics, best sellers to would-be hits, you'll find what  inspires and delights you at the Little Professor.
Why not stop by today?

Peaceful & Cozy

Relax in our quit reading nook!

Spacious aisles and an inviting atmosphere insure your time at the Little Professor just might be the best part of your day.
Come visit with us for a while!

Friendly, Knowledgeable Staff

Let us help you find the books you'll love.

Looking for that perfect read or gift? Our experienced staff can help you find just what the Professor ordered. 

FOLLOW US